Parliament quashes no confidence motion of speaker

Parliament speaker Abdulla Maseeh pictured during a session. PHOTO/MAJLIS

Parliament speaker Abdulla Maseeh pictured during a session. PHOTO/MAJLIS

The parliament on Thursday threw out the motion of no confidence submitted by the opposition against the parliament speaker.

In a letter to all the members, the Parliament explained that the motion is annulled as one of the lawmakers that signed the resolution, Isdhoo MP Ahmed Rasheed, has taken back his signature while four other lawmakers who gave their signatures have lost their seats. Thus, the number of signatures on the resolution is now less than the required amount of 42 to impeach the speaker.

The opposition submitted the motion of no confidence against Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh on July 3 with the signatures of 45 lawmakers.

While the motion was slotted in the parliament’s agenda, the Elections Commission informed the parliament earlier this week that four lawmakers Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim, Villingili MP Saud Hussain, Maduvvari MP Mohamed Ameeth and Dhidhdhoo MP Abdul Latheef Mohamed have been removed from ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM). Thus the EC stated that the four lawmakers have lost their seats in Parliament as per the Supreme Court’s ruling which ousts lawmakers that resign or are expelled from political parties or shift to another party.

Full details are available from the link below:

Source URL: Mihaaru-News

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of