No-confidence motion filed to remove Speaker Maseeh

[Image:Speaker of parliament Abdulla Maseeh Mohamed.]

Opposition lawmakers have submitted a no-confidence motion to remove Speaker Abdulla Maseeh Mohamed, posing the first credible challenge to President Abdulla Yameen’s previously unassailable majority in parliament.

Minority Leader Ibrahim Mohamed Solih from the main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party and MP Faris Maumoon and Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim from a breakaway faction of the ruling Progressive Party of Maldives, along with MP Ali Hussain from the Jumhooree Party and MP Hussain Areef from the government-aligned Maldives Development Alliance, are briefing the press outside the People’s Majlis building.

The bid to remove Maseeh was first announced in late October after eight MPs loyal to the PPM’s deposed leader, former President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, formed a rival bloc to work with the opposition.

But four lawmakers have since returned to Yameen’s faction amid allegations of government pressure on their business interests. The remaining four are MPs Faris, Mohamed Musthafa, Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim from the PPM and Hussain Areef from the MDA.

Meanwhile, following a meeting between Yameen and the PPM’s parliamentary group on February 22, Majority Leader Ahmed Nihan declared on Twitter that the opposition’s attempt to remove Maseeh will “fail”.

Full details are available from the link below:

Source URL:  Maldives Independent

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of