Maldives pres meets govt lawmakers over no confidence vote against parliament speaker

President Yameen meets with lawmakers of PPM/MDA parliamentary group. PHOTO: AHMED NIHAN TWITTER

President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom met with lawmakers of ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and government coalition partner Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) late Monday regarding the motion of no confidence being sought against parliamentary speaker Abdulla Maseeh.

Whereas details of the meeting have not been disclosed yet, PPM’s parliamentary group leader and Villimale MP Ahmed Nihan had tweeted during the discussion that the government-aligned lawmakers will collectively “fail” the opposition’s attempts to remove the parliament chair.

There was harsh criticism expressed over social media regarding this discussion as less than half of the collective 55 lawmakers of PPM and MDA were reported to have attended the meeting. In response, PPM’s deputy parliamentary group leader Riyaz Rasheed told Mihaaru early Tuesday that all parliamentarians currently in capital Male had attended the discussion.

According to MP Riyaz, only three members of the government coalition will vote in favour of the no confidence vote as per the opposition’s wishes. The three lawmakers are Dhiggaru MP Faris Maumoon formerly of PPM, Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim of PPM and Nolhivaram MP Hussain Areef of MDA.

Full details are available from the link below:

Source URL: Mihaaru-News

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of