Lawmakers defy order to withdraw signatures from no confidence resolution

Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh (c) in a press conference

Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh (c) in a press conference

The ten lawmakers of ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) who signed the opposition’s resolution to submit a motion of no confidence against Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh refused to take back their signatures despite PPM’s order to withdraw.

PPM sent letters to the 10 MP’s ordering them to withdraw their signatures before 12 a.m. on Monday night.

While none of the members abided the order, they have all submitted letters of resignation to PPM after the ruling party filed a constitutional case at the Supreme Court to oust lawmakers from their seats over floor crossing. The Supreme Court has ruled in favour of the case.

PPM has also denied accepting the resignation letters of some members, saying that they are reviewing disciplinary issues of the lawmakers in question.

Noting that the maximum action which could be taken against them is expulsion from PPM, the lawmakers have described the situation as PPM “hijacking” the members considering that they have already submitted their resignations.

Full details are available from the link below:

Source URL: Mihaaru-News

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of