Governance Politics

Committee to seek ACC’s assistance in evaluating Cabinet appointees

Government Oversight Committee of the Parliament has discussed consulting with the Anti-Corruption Commission before it makes its decision on the Cabinet appointees.

The names of the 20 appointees to President’s Ibrahim Mohamed Solih’s Cabinet were sent to the Government Oversight Committee for evaluation this Monday morning.

Speaking during the meeting held this Monday to elect the chair and vice chair of the Government Oversight Committee, Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef noted that Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) had strongly advocated appointing individuals of impeccable ethics to political posts.

Shareef said the committee’s evaluation of the Cabinet appointees should not be perfunctory. And that each appointee should be evaluated individually and to a standard acceptable by the public.

He called for a change to the way appointees are evaluated by Parliament committees in the past.

“I, therefore, propose requesting the Anti-Corruption Commission for information,” said Shareef.

MP Ali Hussain speaks during the Government Oversight Committee meeting at the Parliament on November 26, 2018. (Sun Photo/Ahmed Awshan Ilyas)

Shareef’s proposal was seconded by Kendhoo MP Ali Hussain who said the committee needs to seek the assistance of both ACC and Ministry of Economic Affairs for a thorough evaluation of the appointees.

Ali Hussain noted the previous administration was riddled with allegations of corruption and money laundering and said the committee needs to seek information from Maldives Monetary Authority (MMA) regarding the new Cabinet appointees even if via a confidential document.

“I believe that we don’t need to expedite this by summoning only a few relevant agencies and just giving them our endorsement,” said Ali Hussain.

The committee is expected to call up Shareef’s proposal for a vote at its next meeting.


  • Attorney General, Uz. Ibrahim Riffath
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs, Abdulla Shahid
  • Minister of Defense, Uz. Mariya Ahmed Didi
  • Minister of Home Affairs, Imran Abdulla
  • Minister of Finance and Treasury, Ibrahim Ameer
  • Minister of Higher Education, Dr Ibrahim Hassan
  • Minister of National Planning and Infrastructure, Mohamed Aslam
  • Minister of Communication, Science and Technology, Mohamed Maleeh Jamal
  • Minister of Health, Abdulla Ameen
  • Minister of Education, Dr Aishath Ali
  • Minister of Tourism, Ali Waheed
  • Minister of Economic Development, Uz. Fayyaz Ismail
  • Minister of Fisheries, Marine Resources and Agriculture, Zaha Waheed
  •  Minister of Islamic Affairs, Dr Ahmed Zahir
  • Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Aminath Athifa
  • Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment, Ahmed Mahloof
  • Minister of Gender, Family and Social Services, Sidhatha Shareef
  • Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation, Aishath Nahula
  • Minister of Environment, Dr Hussain Rasheed
  • Minister of Arts, Culture and Heritage, Yumna Maumoon

Full details are available at the link below:


Source URL:

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of