Committee passes to nullify Anti-Defection Law

1st sitting of thrid term of Maldives Parliament 2018

Committee passes to abolish the Anti-Defection Act which have MPs lose their seats for leaving their political parties.

The motion was filed by the MP for Vilufushi constituency, Riyaz Rasheed. 

The Anti-Defection Act was initially passed without any amendments by the seven MPs selected to be on the review committee. The members on that committee were the MPs for Dhangethi constituency, Il’ham Ahmed,  MP for Kanditheem constituency, Mohamed Hussain, MP for North Kulhudhuffushi constituency, Abdul Gafoor Moosa, MP for North Fuvahmulah constituency, Ali Shaah, MP for Eydhafushi constituency, Ahmed Saleem, MP for Kendhikulhudhoo constituency, Ali Mauroof and the MP for Hirimaradhoo constituency, Mohamed Mustafa. 

MP Riyaz said that the main reason that the motion was brought to the floor was because the Supreme Court decided that the MPs did not lose their parliamentarian seats. And those MPs would note lose their seats even if the legislation remained. 

The Supreme Court made it’s decision to keep the Anti-Defection Act earlier this year. Delivering the verdict, the Chief Judge Presiding, Dr. Ahmed Abdulla Didi, said that the Anti-Defection Act was passed within the guidelines of the Supreme Court and there is no legal precedence to abolish the act presented by the plaintiffs. The verdict also stated that floor-crossing in the parliament is something that needs to be stopped since controlling the parliament with financial influence is against the constitution. 

Many MPs have expressed their concerns over the act and has called for amendments or abolishment of the act.

Full details are available at the link below:


Source URL: Sun.mv

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of